Learning to Look Into the Future

August 9, 2009 at 12:55 pm Leave a comment

It’s Sunday night (er, Monday morning), and tomorrow is my first day of eating from scratch.  I called my parents to tell them about the project and they were mostly bemused — for them, there’s nothing experimental about cooking from scratch.

But for me, if I don’t want to miss work, annoy the hell out of Jeff & Jon (my sidekicks), or end up manically devouring a candy bar out of sheer hunger, then I’m going to have to live by two rules: plan ahead & eat leftovers. I’ve already mapped out my meals for the entire week, as well as what nights I’ll need to start certain steps (for example, soak chickpeas on Tuesday for hummus on Wednesday).

Curdling milk for paneer

Curdling milk for paneer

I woke up at about 8:30 today, started warming milk for some yogurt, and soaked beans for the chilli I’m making tomorrow night.  The next step was to curdle milk for some homemade paneer and start straining it through a cheesecloth.  By around 1:30, the paneer was drying, my tomatoes were stewed, I had yogurt in the crockpot, and I was off to the farmers market to get some ground meat.

Olsen Farms at the Broadway Farmers Market

Olsen Farms at the farmers market

The truth is, I’m a newbie when it comes to cooking meat.  We didn’t eat too much of it growing up, but I want to learn how to handle meat at home if I’m going to eat it.  I love shopping at the Olsen Farms farmers market stand — it’s a chance to get educated on how animals are (er, should) be raised and buy naturally and sustainably raised meat.

I was pretty amazed that after all the food preparation, I still went on to have a social evening and enjoy some Seattle sunshine (yes, the sun does shine in Seattle).  After a picnic in the park, I picked up Jeff from the airport and was feeling pretty self-congratulatory about my mistake-free prep day.  “Piece of cake!” I thought … until, realized I forgot to make lunch for tomorrow.

So as I stumbled through the door at 1am, I found myself frantically fluffing couscous and sauteeing zucchini as though my life depended on it.  Here I am 30 minutes later, blogging about it for you.  Let the madness begin.

Entry filed under: Preparation. Tags: , , .

Starting From Scratch My Brush With Death Yogurt

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


