Amazing Things You Can Do With Yogurt

August 30, 2009 at 11:58 am Leave a comment

Mmm, mango lassi popsicles

Mmm, mango lassi popsicles

First of all, if you read this headline and immediately thought of something dirty (you know who you are), then I’m sorry to say that this might disappoint.  But that isn’t to say homemade yogurt isn’t terribly exciting!

So one thing I’ve learned through the course of this experiment is that it pays to make things in big batches, both in terms of time and money.  But the question is, what exactly are you supposed to do with a one-gallon vat of yogurt in the span of 10 days, for example?

Well, after a crazy weekend (and a food failure, eek), I discovered that yogurt is a home chef’s best friend.  Aside from the fact that it’s amazing for your digestive system, it really is an unexpected chameleon of an ingredient.  Here are some of my faves:

1.) Mango Lassi Popsicles – There’s a slight chill in the air, which means fall’s on the way.  But for now, it’s still summer, and I could seriously eat a popsicle a day. I know what you’re thinking, but popsicles are for grown-ups too! I enjoy blending yogurt with a seasonal fruit (especially mango) and some sugar, and then literally just sticking it in the freezer.

2.) Salad Dressing – One of the toughest things for me has been that I can’t use balsamic vinegar in my salad dressings, because I definitely can’t make that from scratch in under 6 months.  So thanks to a reader for this light, tangy, yogurt-based dressing: yogurt, powdered mustard, rock salt, a pinch of sugar, and lemon.  Delicious.

3.) Healthy Sour Cream Replacement – I’d go so far as to say my chili recipe is heavenly — add a dollop of sour cream, and it’s downright to die for.  One day, I accidentally used yogurt instead of sour cream, and you know what?  I didn’t even notice the difference until I saw the untouched sour cream sitting in the fridge.  Try it — you’ll thank me.

Go on, take a dip...

Go on, take a dip...

4.) Vegetable Dip – When Amy and Phelps decided to come over for drinks, I knew I had to make a condiment that was sure to impress, since they are veritable condiment queens.  I found a great veggie dip recipe that I made with homemade yogurt and mayonnaise, and some fresh green onions and herbs.  You’ll never go back to those powdered mixes after this one.

I leave you now to go to bed, in hopes that this week will redeem my food failure from this weekend, which you can read about on my food diary.  Wishing you a week filled with culture!  (That’s a yogurt pun…)

Entry filed under: Dairy, Preparation.

Meatloaf: The All-American Beefcake Making Your Own Cheese: What’s All the Stink About?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


